EVE Online trojan warning
Filed under: Sci-fi, EVE Online, Exploits, Game mechanics, News items

CCP Games issued a warning today, regarding a trojan found in a macro for EVE Online. CCP Wrangler said that the macro is being offered by 'Gold Harvest Macro Solutions' and ostensibly allows a player to automate their skill-training with a queue, eliminating the need to periodically log in and change skills. CCP became aware of it and put it through testing; here's a shocker -- the shady software contains a trojan. Please contain your surprise.
CCP Wrangler's full announcement (login required): "A number of players have recently received an advertisement for a skill training macro, this macro is sent by Gold Harvest Macro Solutions who claims that the macro will let you create a skill training plan and have your character automatically train your skills. This macro has been tested and it contains a Trojan, so make sure you do not download any software from these people. If you downloaded the program, make sure that you run a complete scan of your system and then change all of your passwords!"
Not that anyone who uses programs like this doesn't really understand they're breaking the accepted rules of the game, but pretty much using any 3rd-party automation with the EVE client is a bad move.





Get a WordPress.com Blog











Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
Reader said on 6:23PM 9-27-2008
I guess CCP is lead by some pretty good guys (or people that autotrain their characters), because they could just let the cheaters reap their rewards (trojans woot woot).
Reply
anon said on 1:47AM 9-28-2008
This is a false trojan horse warning and it is sad to see it reported this way. http://www.simpleminer.com will give you Gold Harvest Macro Solution's reply to this and I hope people read it. Basically a file compressor causes this warning and it is well known.
Rambie said on 12:31PM 9-30-2008
Sure it's safe anon, I'll believe you and click on that link... NOT!
Reply
anon said on 6:46PM 10-03-2008
Plenty of community members are using it just fine. The website has no pop-ups and simply offers a very useful tool! Hopefully one day you find it on a legitimate download site and give it a try. :)
Rambie said on 7:05PM 10-03-2008
Sorry mate, I guess my sarcasm was off that day. :)